Happy birthday AC!

A few days ago was Dame Agatha Christie’s 133rd birthday: AC is more popularly known as the ‘Queen of Crime’ considering the plethora of novels she has provided to this world. I first discovered Christie’s writing when I was in the 7th grade (back in 2008) – The Thirteen Problems featuring Christie’s Miss Marple was compulsory reading for my English literature class and little did I know that this would begin my dedication to Christie’s writing and provide me books I never otherwise might’ve gotten around to reading.

Its been my goal since then to one day own every single Christie book and comfort read them literally whenever I want to. My favourite book (till now) still continues to be The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, followed super closely by Cat Among the Pigeons. I’m always excited to recommend her novels to anyone who asks and very recently I’ve been trying to get one of my best friend’s to start reading AC as well.

I had read Christie’s autobiography around 6 years ago and was blown my everything she went through, everything she felt and everything that happened/didn’t happen for her to become what she ultimately went on to become. I vividly remember this part where Christie mentions to her sister that she’d like to write mystery novels and her sister categorically rejects it opinion that Christie would never be able to create a story that would keep the readers guessing like Holmes does.

I am always grateful for AC and her writing and there are multiple times during the day when I will sit and admire my collection and I am always looking to re-read her writing and still be blown always.

Leave a comment