The Book List – Part Seven

2016’s almost over and here’s five more books I’ve read this year!

31) The Thomas Berryman Number by James Patterson:
Obviously, I’ve heard TONS about James Patterson. So I was very excited to read this book, also since this was his first book. I have to say though I wasn’t as fascinated by the book as I expected to be and looking back now, I can’t really remember the plot of the book. No more James Patterson for me, I guess.

32) Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Part I and Part II byJ. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany:
I know what people have been saying about this, but nevertheless I LOVED this book. It isn’t Harry Potter so to expect that is completely wrong. The book does however mesmerize you at various parts. I had waited for this for very long and thus was very excited about it as well. There were still however some parts in the book that seemed too far fetched or non-Harry Potterish. Also, seeing Harry, Hermione and Ron all grown up isn’t exactly as much fun as thought. This book gives out Harry Potter vibes and in the end just makes you miss Harry more and more.

33)Room on the Roof by Ruskin Bond:
This is Ruskin Bond’s first novel and features a young boy named Rusty who lives in Dehradun, and is also an orphan. The book, like every other book is brilliant and beautiful. Ruskin Bond’s wiring is so simple and magical that it makes you cry and laugh at the same time.
A MUST READ.

34) Vagrants in the Valley by Ruskin Bond:
This book starts off where Room on the Roof ended. Ruskin Bond writes off a few characters from the first book and that hurt me the most because it meant losing my favourite character of the book. The book is equally beautiful and the end is little heartbreaking.

35) The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller:
This book. I have zero words. This was was my favourite read of this year. I couldn’t have possibly loved any book any more than this. Again, I found  this off a list of books with LGBTQ protagonists, and I’m so thankful my brother gifted it to me.
This book talks about Greek hero Achilles and his lover, Patroclus. The book is narrated by Patroclus  right from the time he first meets Achilles to their respective deaths. This book beautifully depicts their friendship, their love for each other, their bravery and it just a brilliant read over all. I finished the book in one day and cried tons after it. The writing is beautiful and for a debut novel, it is the greatest I have ever read. Ever since I’ve read this book, I’ve quite literally, asked every single person to read it.
This book is amazing and I keep it next to my bed so I can keep going back to it whenever.
100000000000000000/10

 

 

Leave a Reply

