Time’s forever frozen still; Ed Sheeran.

Ed-Sheeran21st March,2015. Best day of my life? Best day of my life.

Back in the 11th grade, my best friends and I made crazy plans that involved touring the whole world to watch our favourite bands performing, because let’s face it, no artist we appreciated was ever going to land in this country.

“Don’t you ever get tired of being wrong?”
“Not when this is the result”

On my birthday, my best friend called up to tell me that Edward Christopher Sheeran was coming to our big yet insignificant city. Best gift ever? Yes. Because if Ed Sheeran’s music doesn’t make you want to run in slow motion throw a meadow, I doubt you’re human.
Ed Sheeran was the first person in our list of “Concerts we want to go for but can’t because we live in an insignificant part of the world” So if Ed Sheeran was coming, we were not missing it. So my best friend(Let’s call him A), A and I, we booked our tickets. But we were missing something. My other cute best friend(Teddy, because he’s as cuddly as a bear.) Teddy’s studying business management in London, and so though it was Ed Sheeran, and though it was bound to be the best night of our stupid uneventful lives, we really(really,really) missed Teddy.

So Ed Sheeran came on 1st March,2015 and we reached at 6:00 PM, and he came to sing at 7:30 PM. We used to fangirl so much back at school, but never did we fangirl as hard as we did on Sunday night.
While we were waiting for Ed Sheeran’s perfect concert to start, we were discussing what songs will be the end of us if he sings them.
A’s buddy,”If he sings I’m A Mess, I’ll die.”
A,”So will she.”
Me,”And photograph. If he sings photograph I will defs die.”

And he opened with ‘I’m a mess’. It was nothing less than perfect. We sang, and we screamed, and we recorded almost everything he sang and said. He wore a blue kurta and he looked so super adorable. He asked us to sing along and said these exact words,
“Its my first time in India and I’m in love with it, the people here are so friendly!”

He sang drunk and lego house and said he was surprised that so many miles away from UK we knew the words to his songs.(perfect songs, I say)
After a few songs, he started stringing on his acoustic guitar. The three of us(Me,A and A’s buddy) took turns to guess the song. And he started singing the lines of ‘Photograph’. And yes I had the freakiest fangirl reaction ever. I looked at A and his buddy and well obviously he read my mind and said,”Yes, yes recording.”
That song was so much of perfection that I was literally on the verge of tears. The ending of the song says “And on the way,I will remember how you kissed me, under the lamppost back on 6th street, hearing you whisper through the phone, wait for me to come home.” And the way he sang it, wow. Just wow. I always wondered what it would be like to hear Ed Sheeran singing live. Incomparable to anything else ever.

When he began Take It Back and You Need Me I Don’t Need You, I think everyone in the ground died forever. He was rapping, and he isn’t even a rapper. And no one could sing along because he was singing with so much of perfection, that we all just listened. For A-Team, he made us hold up the light in our phones, and by now everyone knows it looks sublime.

He told us about how he always feels awkward at hip-hop concerts because all people do is bounce and jump(I share that feeling), but admitted it looks amazing when everyone does it in sync. So for the chorus of bloodstream he asked all of us to raise our hands and bounce when the beat drops. Yes, I hate doing all of that, but when Ed Sheeran asks you to do something you don’t say no.

He sang around 17 songs and he sang for two hours, and believe me when I say it was perfection. Its been a few days now and he’s long gone from our city, but : We saw Ed Sheeran live, and we’re never ever going to get over it.

3 thoughts on “Time’s forever frozen still; Ed Sheeran.

  1. Pingback: Edward Christopher Sheeran! | AnotherDeadLawStudent's Blog

Leave a Reply

